My Weight… 

I recently (well, not really recently, the journey start over a year ago) lost a lot of weight. I went from a XXL to a small in clothing. It was a decision I made on my own to do, but I still cringe when people want to talk about it. Especially since everyone seems to think they are entitled to… Here are a few things I wish people wouldn’t say to me:

  • “Oh my gosh, you look great!!! What’s your secret?” I hear that All. The. Time. Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment, followed by, what feels like, an accusation that I didn’t do this on my own. I did. I worked my butt off. I changed most of my eating habits. I exercise pretty much every day. I started taking care of myself.
  • “Where did your curves go?” That is interchangeable with bum or boobs too. Thanks, now I’m all self conscious.
  • “Wow! You’ve lost so much weight! Please tell me you’re doing it healthy!” Really!?! You think that’s ok to say!?! Really!?!
  • “You’ve lost too much weight” Thanks, now I don’t feel good about myself at all. But really, you shouldn’t have a say in that. It’s nice you thought I was beautiful before, but now you are making me feel horrible about myself. Even if it’s not intentional. It hurts. I’m proud of my accomplishment. And you can change that immediately with that sentence. So, thank you for that….

Also, It just doesn’t seem fair that body image issues never go away. The media, family, friends, coworkers, the whole world, seem to think they have a say in your appearance and body. Now that I’m on the other side, I cannot believe the amount of skinny shaming that goes on too (I only ever saw fat shaming in our society before this). Can we please stop posting hurtful comments/memes/songs etc at the idea of boosting one’s self confidence, but bringing someone down? Maybe I just hold too much of my self worth in other people’s opinions of me…. But I just wish people would leave other people’s weight/appearance alone. They are not what defines the person. *sigh* And that is the end of this rant…

For those curious, here is a before and after shot (ignore my eyes in the 1st one, but I wanted a shot that showed the true me, at my biggest):
In 2011:
 photo 2bfd2c02-f7cb-4fdd-8834-834a227a7413_zpsfqqfilxe.jpg
In 2015:
 photo 266ac557-0d08-45b8-b7f3-e5d4112c644f_zpsfqd0iedd.jpg

And Your Thoughts Are...

